Re-thinking economic growth towards sustainability and well-being:

after the financial crisis, what comes next?

20 25 June, 2010, Sydney, Australia


line decor
line decor

This conference's main theme is about the repercussions of the current worldwide economic crisis on economic growth towards sustainability and well-being; along with the role that input-output analysis and/or input-output based models may play in their quantification. Top experts from this field will participate as plenary speakers to discuss this important topic along with other representatives from national and/or international statistical offices.

Over the past years at the International Input-Output Conferences, convened sessions have been very successful in terms of the number of attendees and discussion. Thus, we strongly welcome proposals for convening sessions on specific themes that you may consider of interest. The recently created Input-Output Statistics Group (IOSG) of the IIOA will collaborate actively in this respect.

Particularly, we would like to inform you about the new features of this Input-Output Conference. Firstly, you will find a new online abstract submission system ( hosted by the IIOA from which you can submit your abstracts and full papers. This system will be used for the very first time in this conference and hopefully in future upcoming IIOA conferences.

Secondly, the Scientific Programme Committee (SPC) is promoting the organization of teaching sessions on specific topics of interest for input-output practitioners, i.e.: the compilation of supply, use and input-output tables, specific input-output software, international input-output based economic models, etc. The sessions will be located in rooms with wireless connection to internet and in which the attendants will be able to use their own laptops to follow the lectures. In this conference, the teaching sessions will consist of three sessions of one hour and a half each, which hopefully manage the attendants to get a deeper knowledge of the contents rather than just a one session talk. Besides, following the tremendous success of the special session for young scholars, we wanted it to be continued in this conference.

Thirdly, the call for papers presents some new features, too. The list of topics showed in the call for papers has been updated. We have tried to cover all the worldwide input-output topics that are currently being developed by the literature. The final programme and the book of abstracts will include only papers for which at least one author has registered the conference and sent the full paper (of at least 2,000 words) by April 30, 2010. After this date, only co-authors of already registered and accepted papers and other participants without presentations will be allowed to register. Please, be also aware that conference fees will not be reimbursed in case of no-show.

Finally, the IIOA will provide as usual travel grants to young experts from non-OECD member countries and will award the Leontief Memorial Prize for the best conference paper of young authors (see the call for papers for more detail).

We wish you success for your submissions and encourage you to come to Sydney to have fun with people from all over the world!

Chair of the SPC
José M. Rueda-Cantuche
Joint Research Centre-IPTS,
European Commission

Vice-chair of the SPC
Klaus Hubacek
University of Leeds, UK

Members of the Scientific Programme Committee (in alphabetical order):

Vito Albino, Polytechnic University of Bari, Italy
Fidel Aroche, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico
Jörg Beutel, Konstanz University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Erik Dietzenbacher, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Faye Duchin, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, United States
Esteban Férnandez-Vázquez, University of Oviedo, Spain
Cristela Goce-Dakila, De la Salle University, Philippines
Jiemin Guo, OECD, France
Geoffrey J. D. Hewings, University of Illinois, United States
Satoshi Inomata, Institute of Developing Economies, Japan
Shigemi Kagawa, Kyushu University, Japan
Kurt Kratena, Austrian Institute of Economic Research, Austria
Tobias Kronenberg, Inst. Energy Research-Systems Analysis & Technology Evaluation, Germany
Michael L. Lahr, Rutgers University, United States
Manfred Lenzen, University of Sydney, Australia
Bart Los, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Brian C. Moyer, Bureau of Economic Analysis, United States
Kakali Mukhopadhyay, McGill University, Canada
Shinichiro Nakamura, Waseda University, Japan
Frederik Neuwahl, Institute for Prospective and Technological Studies, Spain
Jan Oosterhaven, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Peter Ritzmann, Eurostat, Luxembourg
Julio Sánchez-Chóliz, University of Saragossa, Spain
Albert E. Steenge, University of Groningen, Netherlands
Thijs ten Raa, Tilburg University, Netherlands
Bent Thage, Statistics Denmark, Denmark
Arnold Tukker, TNO, Netherlands
Thomas Wiedmann, University of York, United Kingdom
Norihiko Yamano, OECD, France
Cuihong Yang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Devrim Murat Yazan, Polytechnic University of Bari, Italy


Find out about the location of the Welcome Reception and Registration, Town Hall Room, Level 2, Mercure Hotel, 818-820 George Street

Find out about the location of the Conference dinner

Find out about the Half-day Excursion

Full conference booklet (schedule and abstracts) - downloadable pdf version

Summary of changes to program pdf

You will find more details about the Scientific Program on the Call for Papers page