Re-thinking economic growth towards sustainability and well-being:

after the financial crisis, what comes next?

20 – 25 June, 2010, Sydney, Australia


line decor
line decor

The International Input-Output Association and the Integrated Sustainability Analysis Research Group at the University of Sydney announce that the 18th International Input-Output Conference will be held on 20-25 June, 2010 at the University of Sydney, Australia.

Goal of the conference
The goal of the conference is to promote and stimulate the worldwide exchange of ideas among economists between them and government officials, policy makers, engineers, national accountants and managers with interests in input-output analysis and related methods.

Main theme of the Conference
This conference's main theme is about the repercussions of the current worldwide economic crisis on economic growth towards sustainability and well-being; along with the role that input-output analysis and/or input-output based models may play in their quantification. Top experts from this field will participate as plenary speakers to discuss this important topic along with other representatives from national and/or international statistical offices.

Mode of Participation

Convened sessions
Over the past years at the International Input-Output Conferences, convened sessions have been very successful in terms of the number of attendees and discussion. Thus, we strongly encourage potential conveners to make proposals for sets of sessions around specific themes with the Chair of the Scientific Programme Committee. Please provide the Chair of the Scientific Programme Committee by e-mail with a description of the theme and objectives for the session(s), the organiser, the session chair(s), and the speakers/papers by: name of the authors, title of the paper, affiliation of the authors and one selected topic from the list of themes (discussants can be assigned and confirmed at a later stage). The abstracts and full papers should be submitted individually by the authors for evaluation (not by the organizer) before the corresponding submission deadlines.

Individual paper submissions
Abstracts for individual paper submissions are also welcome. In this case, please select an appropriate topic in order to allow allocation your submission to the appropriate thematic session.

Deadline for abstracts
Please submit abstracts for papers before December 31, 2009 through the new online abstract submission system COPASS: Please, fill in the necessary data (title, abstract, names of all authors, e-mail address, etc.) and select an appropriate topic for the abstract. The length of the abstract should not exceed the maximum allowed by the system.

Travel Grants
As was already the case for the last international conferences there are limited funds for up to ten travel grants to young experts from non-OECD member countries of up to US $ 2,500.- each. The Travel Grant Committee of the IIOA will award the grants to a selected set of qualified applicants (being IIOA members, born after 1969, with an accepted unpublished paper and not having received travel grants for the last three conferences). Authors who wish to apply for a travel grant should submit their full paper to the Chair of the Scientific Programme Committee and the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee by February, 28, 2010.

Leontief Memorial Prize
The IIOA is pleased to announce a Leontief Memorial Prize 2010 for the best conference paper of young authors (born after 1969, unpublished work, work combining theory and application) of the forthcoming International Input-Output Conference in Sydney. The Leontief Memorial Prize Committee of the IIOA will select the winning paper, which will be published in Economic Systems Research. Authors who would like to compete for the 2010 Leontief Memorial Prize should submit their full paper to the Chair of the Scientific Programme Committee and the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee by February 28, 2010.

Programme and book of abstracts
The final programme and the book of abstracts will include only papers for which at least one author has registered the conference and sent the full paper (of at least 2,000 words) by April 30, 2010. After this date, only co-authors of already registered and accepted papers and other participants without presentations will be allowed to register. Please, be aware that conference fees will not be reimbursed in case of no-show.


  1. International Input-Output and Supply-Use models
  2. Impact analysis: multipliers
  3. Emerging developing countries
  4. Input-Output analysis of disasters
  5. Input-output and the network theory
  6. Input-output analysis for policy making
  7. Input-Output accounts and statistics
  8. International trade
  9. Methodological aspects of input-output analysis
  10. Physical and hybrid input-output tables
  11. Productivity and efficiency analysis
  12. Regional input-output modeling
  13. Structural change and dynamics
  14. World input-output modeling and databases
  15. Vertical specialization and outsourcing
  16. CGE and econometric input-output modeling
  17. Satellite accounts: tourism, sports and environment
  18. Environmental input-output modeling
  19. Input-Output economics and industrial ecology - LCA analysis
  20. Sustainable production and consumption

Overview of important dates:

Submission of abstracts
(by means of the COPASS online submission system:

December 31, 2009

Call for convened sessions

December 31, 2009

Open registration

February 1, 2010

Notification of acceptance

February 8, 2010

Submission for the Leontief Memorial Prize (full paper)

February 28, 2010

Travel grants application

February 28, 2010

Early bird registration ends

March 31,  2010

Submission of full papers
The full paper should be sent in PDF format using A paper with more than 2,000 words shall be considered full paper for the submission.

April 30, 2010

Registration closes

June 10, 2010

Conference in Sydney

June 20-25, 2010


Chair of the Local Organizing Committee:
Manfred Lenzen
Acting Chair of the Local Organizing Committee:
Jodie Gonzalez Jennings
ISA, School of Physics, A28
The University of Sydney NSW 2006


Chair of the Scientific  
  Programme Committee
José M. Rueda-Cantuche
Joint Research Centre-IPTS,
European Commission